Proven Commitment to Food Safety

As destination countries broaden their food safety regulations, LMZ plays a vital role in ensuring related compliance. We monitor all key components of the food safety chain, beginning in origin countries and ending with coffee deliveries to our clients. LMZ reinforces its commitment to food safety by participating in the programs below.

C-TPAT (Customs-Trade Partnership Against Terrorism)

LMZ is a C-TPAT certified and validated Tier 2 Importer. A partnership program between the U.S. government and private importers, C-TPAT provides benefits to members in return for their commitment to Customs and Border Protection (CBP) and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

A member of C-TPAT since 2005, LMZ has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to the organization by implementing security measures throughout its supply chain of goods bound to the U.S., and by consistently improving overall security. Originating in the aftermath of 9/11, the program has expanded significantly since its inception. Currently, C-TPAT operates on a scope commensurate with the overall supply chain security of goods entering the United States.

Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA)

The Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) was the first major update of federal food safety laws since the 1930s. The measure grants new powers to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and imposes added responsibilities for food safety throughout an importer’s supply chain.

FSMA Provisions Include:

  • Verification that imported food and food ingredients are produced in accordance with U.S. standards
  • More frequent FDA inspections of domestic and foreign facilities
  • Required re-registrations by food companies
  • Expanded FDA authority to order administration remedies for food products where there is reason to believe adulteration or mislabeling is present